At the midway point of the season, BP’s staff sees four awards as runaways
and two as crapshoots. Here’s a look at our panel’s voting
for the big six honors.

AL MVP (5-3-1, first place in parentheses)

Alex Rodriguez 46 (8) Pedro Martinez 15 (2) Jason Giambi 9 Ivan Rodriguez 9 Carlos Delgado 5 Edgar Martinez 3 Troy Glaus 1

NL MVP (5-3-1, first place in parentheses)

Jeff Kent 24 (2) Mike Piazza 20 (2) Randy Johnson 16 (3) Barry Bonds 14 (2) Mark McGwire 8 (1) Jim Edmonds 6 Kevin Brown 1 Gary Sheffield 1

AL Cy Young (single vote)

Pedro Martinez 10

NL Cy Young (single vote)

Randy Johnson 10

AL Rookie of the Year (single vote)

Jeff Tam 8 Kazuhiro Sasaki 1 Russell Branyan 1

NL Rookie of the Year (single vote)

Rich Ankiel 4.5 Mitch Meluskey 3 Rafael Furcal 2 Tony Armas Jr. .5

Thank you for reading

This is a free article. If you enjoyed it, consider subscribing to Baseball Prospectus. Subscriptions support ongoing public baseball research and analysis in an increasingly proprietary environment.

Subscribe now
You need to be logged in to comment. Login or Subscribe