Notice: Trying to get property 'display_name' of non-object in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-seo/src/generators/schema/article.php on line 52

Overall Standings |
Leaders (484 K) |
Teams (631 K)

The 1997 Overlord of Sensing Stiffness

Anything Goes Category Winner: Lazaros T. Volikas

In what might be the closest HM race ever, Lazaros Volikas’ Ground
Zero squad beat out two other teams (Kevin Lambie’s and Mike Cuccaro’s)
by less than 1 point. Lazaros did pick Saint Rey, but otherwise had none
of the category leaders and no other top 10 HACKer, and even survived a
nearly-adequate year from Rico Brogna.

Ground Zero
Lazaros T. Volikas	OPS	PA	Stiffness Pts
Fabregas, Jorge		0.506	198	58.140
Brogna, Rico		0.765	614	21.534
Sprague, Ed		0.683	508	59.244
Ordonez, Rey		0.577	529	118.134
Grissom, Marquis	0.685	568	65.077
TOTAL					322.130

No Rey of Light Category Winner: Hyoun Park

Just 15 points off the overall pace and in 5th overall, Hyoun Park’s
Cults of Personality took home the no-Rey Ordonez prize. He did have the
#2 HACKer overall, Brian Hunter, as well as new HACKing standby Cal
Ripken Jr.

Cults of Personality
Hyoun Park 		OPS	PA	Stiffness Pts
Fabregas, Jorge		0.506	198	58.140
Brogna, Rico		0.765	614	21.534
Jr, Cal Ripken		0.721	656	52.048
Cairo, Miguel		0.674	545	68.605
Hunter, Brian L		0.631	633	107.053
TOTAL					307.379

Winners in Previous Years:
1997- Ken Crowell
1996- Mike Littau
1995- Mark "Rico" Locatelli and Sean Forman
1994- Steve Hawes
1993- Dave Tate

The Most Valuable HACKING MASSter (MVHaM aka the Porky Pig Award)

Well, the Golden Spray Starched Bat of Lind has finally gone to the man
who so greatly deserved it. Much as the world of sports rejoiced to see
Don Mattingly make the playoffs in 1995 or to see John Elway win the
Super Bowl this January, we now raise our glasses in celebration, for
Rey Ordonez has finally taken his rightful place at the top (or bottom)
of the MASS. Tony Womack tried his best, but his July hitting streak
vaulted him out of contention, to an eventual finish of 7th place. Brian
Hunter and Ordonez were the only two players to amass 100 points, with
Alex Gonzalez joining them as the only three players above 90.

1997- Gary DiSarcina
1996- Delino Deshields
1995- Kevin Stocker
1994- Matt Walbeck
1993- Jose Lind

Anti-Rookie Of The Year

Another year, another shortstop winning the A-ROY. For the 5th time in
the 6 years of the HACK, a shortstop takes the crown as worst rookie.
This year, it’s the Phils’ Desi Relaford, the man who nearly made John
Sickels look bad by virtue of a strong April. Desi performed his duties
well, however, wilting completely by June 1 and never recovering.

Previous Anti-ROY:
1997- Deivi Cruz
1996- Rey Ordonez
1995- Benji Gil
1994- Matt Walbeck
1993- Pat Meares

The Worst of the Worst

A few surprises at the corners this year, as two part-timers sucked so
badly that they still made the list, despite fewer than 250 PA apiece.
Ryan McGuire earns the nod at first, and Doug Strange had 196 of the
least productive plate appearances we’ve ever seen. Our hats are off
and are covering our mouths.


Flaherty, John	TAM	C	0.5360	327	86.3	0.2630	0.2730
Mcguire, Ryan	MON	1B	0.5362	242	63.8	0.2934	0.2429
Strange, Doug	PIT	3B	0.4356	196	71.4	0.2194	0.2162
Ordonez, Rey	NYM	MI	0.5788	529	117.0	0.2798	0.2990
Hunter, Brian L	DET	OF	0.6314	633	106.8	0.2986	0.3328
TOTAL						445.3

Thank you for reading

This is a free article. If you enjoyed it, consider subscribing to Baseball Prospectus. Subscriptions support ongoing public baseball research and analysis in an increasingly proprietary environment.

Subscribe now
You need to be logged in to comment. Login or Subscribe