Way back in 1998, Angels shortstop Gary DiSarcina opened the season by going 61 plate appearances—the better part of April—before drawing his first walk. Towards the end of that stretch, he was quoted as saying he would be perfectly happy if he never drew one, which was consistent with his career approach, as he drew just 154 free passes in more than 4000 career plate appearances.

In 2000, to honor this attitude, I created the DiSar Awards, which recognize the position player in each league who goes the most at-bats into his season without drawing a walk. It’s a relatively meaningless number that pokes a little fun at the players who, in an era where plate discipline is valued, go to the plate hacking.

Last year, the Disar Awards went to Ben Zobrist of the Devil Rays, who came from behind after an extended trip to the minors to post 69 walk-less at-bats, and thus edge out a pair of Tigers, Ivan Rodriguez and Omar Infante, as well as Victor Diaz, who were all knotted up at 68. Zobrist was sent to Triple-A in May having not walked in 63 at-bats, then picked up six more upon his recall in July before drawing a walk on August 3. Such is the power of the Golden Crutch.

In the National League, the rule banning pitchers was a big issue, as Carlos Zambrano, Livan Hernandez, Brandon Webb, Jamie Moyer and Woody Williams were the top five in the league DiSar Count. By rule, however, it’s limited to position players, so it's Craig Biggio who wins the award, as his 59 walk-less at-bats—while batting leadoff, it should be noted—carried the day, a notch ahead of Juan Encarnacion’s 58. The double-play combination of Zobrist and Biggio shows that age is nothing but a number when it comes to swinging the bat—players young and old alike can treat free passes with disdain.

Zobrist and Biggio take their places in a storied group of past winners:

Year   American League      National League
2007   Ben Zobrist          Craig Biggio
2006   Mike Redmond         Jeff Francoeur
2005   Andres Blanco        Jeff Francoeur
2004   Cesar Crespo         Jose Macias
2003   Jose Molina          Rainer Olmedo
2002   Carl Crawford        Shawon Dunston
2001   Alfonso Soriano      Marquis Grissom
2000   Jacque Jones         Shawon Dunston

The great thing about the DiSars is that they transcend age, experience, position, race, and all the other categories in which we put baseball players. All-Stars have won DiSars, and bench players have as well. It’s really the most egalitarian award in the game today.

Who’s primed to join this list in 2008? BP’s Jason Paré cranked the numbers on the current league leaders:

American League    AB       National League    AB
Jose Molina        56       Matt Diaz          79
Jay Payton         52       Ryan Braun         61
Travis Buck        38       Cristian Guzman    57
Jhonny Peralta     37       Bengie Molina      50
Robinson Cano      36       Brad Ausmus        50

Jose Molina is trying to win his second DiSar Award, helped along by Jorge Posada’s absence from the Yankee lineup, as well as the organization’s inability to find a better catcher. The Brothers Molina won’t pull it off this season—Bengie’s streak stopped well short of the lead in the NL—but that’s an impressive family you see above, with two top-five showings this late in the year.

None of the streaks above are active, so Molina and Diaz are the leaders in this particular clubhouse. In a number of seasons, though, the DiSar Award has gone to a player well off the radar in May. Currently active DiSar Counts include Toby Hall’s 34, Wilson Betemit’s 26, and Brandon Fahey’s 25. No National League position player has an active number above 24, although Carlos Zambrano has to be mentioned: he’s at 30 this year, on top of 81 in 2007, and hasn’t drawn a walk since June 10, 2006, nearly two years and 160 at-bats ago. That is a gift. How about the Big Z Awards, anyone?

You need to be logged in to comment. Login or Subscribe