Greg Spira Baseball Research Award

Rules and Procedures for Nominations for the 2014 Award

The Greg Spira Baseball Research Award Committee ( has announced the rules and procedures for nominations for the second annual Greg Spira Baseball Research Award. The winner of the 2014 Greg Spira Award will receive a cash prize of $1,000. The committee will also recognize two additional writers with awards of $200 for second place and $100 for third place.

The inaugural Spira Award was presented to Trent McCotter of Washington, D.C., last year. Dan Farnsworth and Caleb Hardwick were honored as second- and third-place winners, respectively.

The Nomination Period will open at 12:01 a.m. EST on January 16, 2014, and remain open through 11:59 p.m. EST on February 15, 2014. Nominations received before or after the Nomination Period will not be considered.

The Nomination Form for the Greg Spira Award can be found at Anyone can nominate a qualifying piece for the Award, and self-nominations by authors are welcome. Note, however, that only one entry per author will be considered for the Greg Spira Award.

In order to be eligible for nomination, a piece or book must be about baseball and must contain original analysis or research. Nominated pieces or books must have been published between January 16, 2013, and January 15, 2014. Articles, papers, and books eligible for consideration include those published in print or in e-books, those published or posted on the World Wide Web, academic papers or dissertations, and papers presented at professional or public conferences.

In the event of multiple nominations, a self-nomination by the author takes priority over any piece nominated by a third party. If multiple pieces by one author are nominated by third parties, the judges will attempt to contact the author to ascertain which piece he/she wants to be considered. If the author fails to respond, the judges will evaluate the first piece submitted and ignore any other nominated pieces by that author.

The Publication Period dates have been chosen so that pieces published about the annual January Hall of Fame election are eligible for consideration without having to wait a full year. This also ensures that pieces about Spink Award, Frick Award, and Hall of Fame inductees who will be honored in Cooperstown on the same July weekend will not be split between two Greg Spira Awards. (The Spink, Frick and Veterans Committee selections are announced in December, while the Baseball Writers Association of America selections are announced in early January.)

The Greg Spira Baseball Research Award winners will be announced on April 27, 2014, the 47th anniversary of Greg’s birth. Winning entries must display innovative analysis or reasoning by an author who was 30 years old or younger at the time of the entry’s publication.

A panel of judges—including Greg’s brother Jonathan Spira, the creators of the Award, and several close friends of Greg—will determine the winners of this innovative competition. The selections of the judges are final and not appealable.

About Greg Spira
A lifelong and passionate Mets fan, baseball researcher Greg Spira died on December 28, 2011 in his native New York City. Spira was an early adopter and a pioneer in using the Internet to advance baseball analysis, and he later contributed to many sports books as a researcher, writer, and editor.

Working with the Spira family, the creators of the Greg Spira Award include Sean Forman of Baseball-, Joe Hamrahi and Dave Pease of Baseball Prospectus, Sean Lahman of, and Gary Gillette of 24-7 Baseball, L.L.C.

Remembrances, tributes, and other information about Greg Spira can be found on these Web sites:

For more information, please go to or send a message to Info(AT)

Thank you for reading

This is a free article. If you enjoyed it, consider subscribing to Baseball Prospectus. Subscriptions support ongoing public baseball research and analysis in an increasingly proprietary environment.

Subscribe now
You need to be logged in to comment. Login or Subscribe