Plenty of well-documented rumors came to nothing last week, and Derek looks at what the lack of activity means for your team.
I’ve spent the last week and a half breaking down thefantasyramifications of every deal that was made at this year’s non-waiver trade deadline, but lost in this shuffle were the players who figured to benefit from (or be hurt by) a trade that never happened. Today, I’m going to shine some light on a few of these guys.
Did Bryce Harper see reason, or has he misplaced his magic necklace? With an update on the DiSars!
These are simply three unrelated items that should be in the public record somewhere.
1. Monday, I wrote about Bryce Harper’s toughest at-bats. One was against Kenley Jansen, in late April, and another was against Jonny Venters, in late May. In the first one, Bryce Harper was wearing a Phiten magic necklace, and in the second one he was not. Somewhere between late April and late May, Bryce Harper either realized magic necklaces aren’t real, or he decided that they are real but they don’t work on his particular body chemistry, or he lost his. Magic necklaces obviously are real, and they obviously do work, no duh, or else why would all these athletes (and bat boys, and managers, and fans) wear them? I know what you’re probably going to say, but let me reiterate: Uh no duh.
Felix Hernandez has a terrific nickname and the adoration of thousands just weeks into his MLB career.
Two starts into his major-league career, 50 starts as a professional, barely old enough to vote in the U.S., certainly not old enough to buy alcohol here…and yet Felix Hernandez has been branded royalty. That's not bad for someone who started the 2004 season in the California League.
In the Oakland sixth, Ramon Hernandez chops one past Nomar Garciaparra. The runner on second, Miguel Tejada rounds third, but is obstructed by third baseman Bill Mueller. This is rule 7.06b--a play is not being made on the obstructed runner--and again third base umpire Bill Welke did everything right. He points to the location of obstruction with one hand and shouts "Obstruction." He does not throw two hands up in the air repeatedly signaling a dead ball. It may seem like a confusing distinction, but they are very distinct and again, it is not unreasonable to expect a player, especially a professional, to know the rules of the game he plays. Tejada, though, assumes this obstruction is the same as the obstruction he witnessed innings before. Unfortunately, he is wrong. The play is not dead and no bases are awarded. The play is ongoing and it is the responsibility of all players, offensive and defensive, to continue the play to its end. I have heard arguments that calling Tejada out was the easy way out for the umps with an obvious scapegoat. I disagree. Tejada being put out was due to his own ignorance of the rules, indefensible for a professional, but probably the norm. Tejada's ignorance is also not something the umps have to compensate for..."Well, he thought the play was over. That is why he stopped. We should give him home." Sorry, no dice. Tejada's job is to finish the play. If he is safe, well then, he is safe. If he is called out, it is in the umpire's judgment whether he would have been safe if for the obstruction and if so, the umpire will overturn the out due to the obstruction.
Not to be confused with...
Rule 2 - Interference (a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders, or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play.